Skip to main content

Double Taxation Agreements

Volume 712: debated on Monday 5 October 2009


The Financial Services Secretary to the Treasury (Lord Myners): My right honourable friend the Financial Secretary to the Treasury (Stephen Timms) has made the following Written Ministerial Statement.

New tax information exchange agreements (TIEAs) were signed with Anguilla on 20 July 2009, Turks and Caicos Islands on 22 July 2009, Liechtenstein on 11 August 2009 and Gibraltar on 27 August 2009. Protocols to double taxation agreements were signed with Singapore on 24 August 2009 and Switzerland on 7 September 2009.

The text of each TIEA and protocol has been deposited in the Libraries of both Houses and made available on the HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC) website. The text of each will be scheduled to separate draft Orders in Council and laid before the House of Commons in due course.

On the same day that the TIEA with Liechtenstein was signed, HMRC also signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with the Government of Liechtenstein on co-operation in tax matters. The text of the MoU is available on the HMRC website.