Skip to main content

Airports: Security

Volume 715: debated on Tuesday 1 December 2009


Asked by

To ask Her Majesty's Government further to the Written Answer by Lord Adonis on 3 June (WA 81–2) concerning security at United Kingdom airports, which are the regulated airports to which the answer referred. [HL214]

The national aviation security programme regulates all aerodromes on which directions under the Aviation Security Act have been served. There are currently 68 of these although this number can fluctuate due to seasonal variations as some of the smaller aerodromes do not receive flights at all times. These aerodromes include all BAA airports, airports of the Manchester Airports Group, airports of the Peel Airport Group, and the Highlands and Islands Airports.

A full list of regulated airports has been placed in the Library of the House.