Skip to main content

Constable of the Tower of London

Volume 716: debated on Thursday 14 January 2010


Asked by

To ask Her Majesty's Government who advises the Prime Minister prior to him making a recommendation to HM The Queen on the appointment of the Constable of the Tower of London. [HL953]

To ask Her Majesty's Government who has served as Constable of the Tower of London since 1979; and what have been their qualifications for appointment to the post. [HL954]

The Secretary of State for Defence makes the recommendation to the Prime Minister after seeking advice from the current service Chiefs of Staff.

Since 1784 and in accordance with Queen's Regulations for the Army, the ceremonial office of Constable of the Tower of London has been conferred on a retired senior military officer. Since 1979, the following former Chiefs of the Defence Staff and/or Chiefs of the General Staff have been appointed as constables.



Field Marshal Sir Geoffrey Baker GCB, CMG, CBE, MC


May 1980

General Sir Peter Hunt GCB, DSO, OBE

June 1980

July 1985

Field Marshal Sir Roland Gibbs GCB, CBE, DSO, MC, KStJ

August 1985

July 1990

Field Marshal Sir John Stanier GCB, MBE

August 1990

July 1996

The Rt Hon Field Marshal The Lord Inge KG, GCB, PC, DL

August 1996

July 2001

General Sir Roger Wheeler GCB, CBE, ADC

August 2001

July 2009

General Sir Richard Dannatt GCB, CBE, MC

August 2009

To date