Skip to main content

Royal Navy: Fleet

Volume 716: debated on Tuesday 19 January 2010


Asked by

To ask Her Majesty's Government how many (a) aircraft carriers, (b) destroyers, (c) frigates, and (d) other battleships, are operational; and for which each of the 11 admirals in the Royal Navy is responsible. [HL958]

The Royal Navy currently has three aircraft carriers, six destroyers, 17 frigates and three other capital ships (HMS “Ocean”, HMS “Albion” and HMS “Bulwark”) in the operating cycle, though those undergoing maintenance or refit are held at lower readiness for operations. In a letter dated 6 March 2007 to the honourable Member for New Forest East (Mr Lewis), the readiness policy for Royal Naval ships was set out. A copy of the letter was placed in the Libraries of both Houses.

Admirals in the Royal Navy are not assigned responsibility for individual vessels.