Skip to main content

Department for Communities and Local Government: Faith Advisers

Volume 717: debated on Monday 1 March 2010


Asked by

To ask Her Majesty's Government what are (a) the names, and (b) the terms of contract, of each of the recently appointed faith advisers in Communities and Local Government. [HL1627]

The new panel of faith advisers is comprised of the following individuals:

Rev Dr Alan Billings;

Dr Harriet Crabtree;

Marcia Dixon;

Dr Doreen Finneron;

Jenny Kartupelis;

Wakkas Khan;

Alveena Malik;

Mehri Niknam;

Rosalind Preston;

Dr Jasdev Singh Rai;

the Rt Rev Timothy Stevens;

Arjan Vekaria; and

Professor Paul Weller

The members of the panel advise my department in a voluntary, personal capacity. They are not employees and therefore do not hold contracts. However, they are bound by the Civil Service Code in relation to their conduct while advising my department.

In addition, we have appointed a faith policy adviser on a 12-month fixed term contract in line with Civil Service recruitment principles.