Skip to main content

Ports: Public Authorities

Volume 717: debated on Monday 1 March 2010


Asked by

To ask Her Majesty's Government which trust ports are (a) designated, and (b) not designated, as public authorities under the Freedom of Information Act 2000; and what criteria are used to make the decision. [HL2111]

Four trust ports in Northern Ireland are designated under the Freedom of Information Act 2000. No others in England or Wales are designated.

The Government announced last year the outcome of a consultation on the designation of additional public authorities and decided not to extend coverage to harbour authorities beyond those already designated by virtue of being run by an existing public authority.

The Government's guidance to trust ports states that they should aim to comply with the spirit of the Act in responding to reasonable requests for information from the public.