Skip to main content

Taxation: Information Exchange Agreements

Volume 718: debated on Tuesday 6 April 2010


Asked by

To ask Her Majesty's Government with which countries they have tax information exchange agreements other than those announced by the Chancellor of the Exchequer in his recent Budget speech. [HL3198]

The countries and territories with which the United Kingdom has signed a tax information exchange agreement and which were not mentioned in the Budget speech are Bermuda, the Isle of Man, the British Virgin Islands, Guernsey, Jersey, Anguilla, the Turks & Caicos Islands, Gibraltar, the Bahamas, Antigua & Barbuda, Saint Kitts & Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines and San Marino.

Since the G20 London summit in April 2009, the United Kingdom has also signed a number of agreements for the avoidance of double taxation (including protocols to existing agreements) in order to provide for the exchange of tax information to the same international standard. These agreements are with the Cayman Islands, Belgium, Qatar, Luxembourg, Singapore, Switzerland, Malaysia, Austria, Montserrat and Bahrain.

Other agreements are being negotiated.