Skip to main content

Boards Of Visitors And Justices Of The Peace

Volume 622: debated on Wednesday 21 February 2001

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked Her Majesty's Government:Which boards of visitors do not meet the requirement of Section 6(2) of the Prison Act 1952 that each board should have not less than two Justices of the Peace. [HL842]

Appointments and resignations on boards of visitors are a frequent occurrence and the composition of any board can therefore change daily. However, as at 19 February 2001 the boards listed below did not have at least two Justices of the Peace on their Board and did not therefore meet the requirements of Section 6(2) of the Prison Act 1952.

  • Deerbolt
  • Drake Hall
  • East Sutton Park
  • Haslar
  • Lindholme
  • Maidstone
  • Moorland
  • Onley
  • Portland
  • Rochester
  • Rye Hill
  • Shepton Mallet
  • Standford Hill