Skip to main content

Airports: Security

Volume 474: debated on Monday 21 April 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport which airports operate (a) a one-bag rule and (b) a two-bag rule; and what steps she is taking to standardise practice. (194543)

The Secretary of State announced that the one bag restriction imposed on UK airports would be lifted once individual airports had demonstrated sufficient screening capacity whilst also maintaining our security standards. Currently 31 airports are approved to allow each passenger to take more than one cabin bag through security at UK airports, but airports and airlines may retain cabin bag limits regardless of the restriction being lifted. We are actively encouraging the remaining airports to seek removal of the restriction and expect more airports to follow shortly.

The 31 airports where the restriction has been lifted fully are Aberdeen, Benbecula, Birmingham, Cambridge, Cardiff, Dundee, Edinburgh, Farnborough, Gatwick, George Best Belfast City, Glasgow, Gloucestershire, Guernsey, Heathrow, Humberside, Inverness, Islay, Isle of Man, Kirkwall, London City, Manchester, Newcastle, Norwich, Plymouth, Prestwick, Southampton, Southend, Stansted, Stornoway, Sumburgh and Wick.