Skip to main content

Crown Prosecution Service Restructure

Volume 522: debated on Monday 31 January 2011

: This statement sets out the forthcoming changes to the current Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) structure, which the CPS is introducing from 1 April 2011.

Under the current CPS structure there are 42 areas aligned to individual police force boundaries. These areas are presently organised as 13 regional groups. In the new structure the 13 groups will become 13 new larger areas, with a chief Crown prosecutor (CCP) supported by a number of deputy chief Crown prosecutors to provide leadership across the new areas.

This change builds on the experience and success that the CPS group structure has provided over recent years. It establishes a solid foundation for the future and provides the CPS with greater capacity, capability and flexibility to respond to the challenges that lie ahead.

The CPS has carefully considered the changes taking place in the criminal justice system (CJS) and believes that the new structure will provide a better strategic fit with its partners and places the CPS in the best possible position to deal with the modernisation of the CJS including digital working. The new structure will also provide an improved service for serious and sensitive casework, especially work received from regional intelligence units and regional asset recovery teams.

Under these new arrangements there will continue to be a strong presence in each police force area with dedicated teams working with local police forces and senior CPS leaders to provide a strong focus on local liaison, partnership and accountability.

The CCPs for the new CPS areas are set out below.

North East

Wendy Williams

Yorkshire & Humberside

Neil Franklin

North West

Robert Marshall

Merseyside & Cheshire

Paul Whittaker


Jim Brisbane (Acting)

West Midlands

Harry Ireland

East Midlands

Judith Walker


Ken Caley

South East

Roger Coe-Salazar

Thames Chiltern

Baljit Ubhey


Nick Hawkins

South West

Barry Hughes


Alison Saunders

These CCPs will be writing to their MPs locally prior to 1 April 2011 to confirm the details of these changes and how the arrangements will operate in practice in the new areas.